ProCare Rx SuperNationals Englishtown, NJ - Final Results

NHRA, ANDRA or anything else
Post Reply
User avatar
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2497
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:04 pm
Make: On the Fence
Driver: Russell Ingall
Team: Norton 360 racing

ProCare Rx SuperNationals Englishtown, NJ - Final Results

Post by banditshideaway » Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:42 pm

Sourced from

Big day for Prudhomme drivers and Anderson at thrilling E-Town event

Drag racing legend Don "the Snake" Prudhomme celebrated a double-win Sunday as his two drivers -- Larry Dixon in Top Fuel and Tommy Johnson Jr. in Funny Car -- pulled off a pair of wins at the 38th annual ProCare Rx NHRA SuperNationals presented by R2B2 Motors. Ironically, Pro Stock winner Greg Anderson tallied his 49th career victory, which ties him with Prudhomme on the all-time winner's list. Pro Stock Motorcycle winner Craig Treble joined in the fun after he dispatched reigning champ Andrew Hines.

Johnson rose from the ashes, literally and figuratively, to get his first win of the year. The veteran racer survived a giant fire in the opening round that reduced his car to a bare chassis but still managed to win the event. He also rose from 12th to eighth in the POWERade points. Dixon moved into second place on the Top Fuel all-time wins list, while Anderson and Prudhomme now share sixth place on the overall Professional-class victory list. Treble's win was the 10th of his career.

Dixon was the first to streak from the gates in his final-round race against Doug Herbert, .057 to .071, and he never looked back, inching away as he went down the track to win with a 4.625 at 321.73 mph to Herbert's 4.675 at 316.30 mph.

This was Dixon's second win in a row for new sponsor SkyTel. He's now been to the final round of this race for the last seven years with four wins.

Dixon's back-to-back wins lifted him from fifth to second in the POWERade points. He now trails "Hot Rod" Fuller by just 35 points. Snap-on racer Herbert, 8-14 lifetime in final rounds, last won in Chicago in 2004, 59 races ago.

This was a classic "get-well" weekend for Johnson, who had just two elimination round wins on the year coming in. He qualified No. 1, overcame a huge fire with the help of crewmen from Bob Vandergriff and Mike Ashley's teams, won the event, and moved into the Countdown to the Championship field.

It wasn't easy in the final as Tony Pedregon gave him a race, leaving first by a hundredth of a second. But Johnson managed to catch the former champ and pass him to win with a 4.994 at 305.84 mph to Pedregon's 5.022 at 306.33 mph.

"We had to change everything after that fire, right down to the fuel tanks," Johnson said. "That was a bad fire. It snuck up on me because the run was going fine and then, blam, there was this huge fireball. I hit the bottles but it was still very hot in there. I had oil on my tires and I was trying the best I could to stop and get out but the damage was already done. We couldn't have done it without an exceptional effort by this team and all the other guys that came over and helped us out. I won't forget that."

Johnson went from a nearly-forgotten 12th to eighth in one weekend. Pedregon has risen to fourth place with his second final-round showing of the year.

Trying to steal away a holeshot win from KB Racing for the second week in a row, racer Jeg Coughlin was a little too aggressive at the Christmas Tree, leaving early by .007-second to hand Anderson his sixth win in the first 10 races of the season.

It may not have mattered as Anderson's Summit Racing Pontiac GTO ran a 6.617 at 209.52 mph, quicker than anything Coughlin had posted all day, but it was all academic after the red-light start.

Anderson's win, the sixth in a row for KB Racing at this facility, pushed his lead over Coughlin in the POWERade points to 201.

Dave Connolly sits 93 back of Coughlin in third place.

After three runner-up finishes here, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park probably owed Pro Stock Motorcycle victor Treble this win, the 10th of his career. The final was a thriller as both men stayed within each other's shadows most of the way down the track. In the end it was Treble eking out a 6.990-second win at 191.70 mph over Hines 7.003 at 190.48 mph.

First and second in the points, Matt Smith and Angelle Sampey both lost in Round 2, but Sampey did gain 24 points on Smith by outqualifying him and recording a national elapsed time record. She now trails Smith by 56 points. Hines and Treble are fourth and fifth overall, respectively.
[font=Arial][/font]RUBBIN'S RACING :driving

Post Reply